Mohamed Abduba Dida has been appointed chairman of the Constituency Development Board (CDF)

 Mohamed Abduba Dida appointed chairman of the constituency Development Board (CDF)

By Geoffrey Mosoku, Standard Digital

imagesNairobi, Kenya: President Uhuru Kenyatta has once again disregarded a public outcry and appointed leaders who lost in the last elections to chair the boards of 10 State corporations, setting the stage for a potentially explosive backlash from Jubilee supporters. Uhuru and his Deputy William Ruto’s top allies have been rewarded in the appointments that also saw his competitor in the 2013 presidential election Mohamed Abduba Dida being rewarded. In what is likely to cause a new storm within the Jubilee ranks, the President has picked politicians who lost in the last General Election for the lucrative positions even as he appointed one of his lawyers to head a parastatal. Six of the ten appointees are allies of the President and his deputy who contested and lost in the March 4, 2013 poll.A special gazette notice dated December 31, 2013 indicates that Dida has been appointed chairman of the Constituency Development Board (CDF) to replace Jennifer Nafula Barasa.  He will serve for a period of eight months.

Former Information and Communications Minister Samuel Poghisio, who lost the West Pokot senatorial contest on a URP ticket, has made a comeback to public office and will chair the Kenya Civil Aviation Authority (KCAA) board.Danson Mungatana (TNA), who also lost in Tana River has been appointed chairman of Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) board with effect from January 10 and will chair the board until October 30 this year. Njeru Ndwiga, who vied for the Embu Senate seat on a TNA ticket and had served the first term of the Kibaki administration as minister for Cooperatives, is the new chairman of Tanathi Water Service Board. He lost the Senate seat to Lenny Kivuti of the Alliance Party of Kenya (APK). Former Mt Elgon MP Fred Kapondi makes a comeback to the public service after he was appointed chairman of Kenya Post Office Savings Bank Board, commonly known as Post Bank, for a period of three years, with effect from January 10. Kapondi, who was defending his seat on a URP ticket, lost in the last General Election to independent candidate John Serut.

The Deputy President’s previous ally, politician Patrick Osero has landed the post of chairman of the Agriculture Finance Corporation for two years. Osero contested the Borabu constituency seat on an ODM ticket last year, emerging second after losing to Wiper’s Ben Momanyi. Although Osero joined ODM in the run-up to the last General Election, he has been a close associate of Ruto since their time in the Youth for Kanu 92 lobby group and is best remembered for standing surety of Sh6 million to bail out the Deputy President during the earlier years of Narc regime when he was charged with fraud in a land case. The President has also rewarded one of his defence team members at the International Criminal Court (ICC), Gershom Otachi. Otachi is now the new chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Policyholders’ Compensation Fund.                                                     Read more on Standard Digital………………………

One thought on “Mohamed Abduba Dida has been appointed chairman of the Constituency Development Board (CDF)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *